Thank goodness for technology

FRIDAYYYY, FINALLYYYY! Sorry I’m a tad excited that it is the weekend again even if I have no plans. Actually that’s not true, I have plans to get a run in outside before it is 1000 degrees, hang out at the pool, and hopefully go to dinner at Seasons 52 with my sister. Although, she came down with some sort of illness yesterday morning and has been sporting a fever off and on, so that may not happen. Any other local ladies wanna go shopping and eat dinner with me? You might have to restrain me from spending all my money at KOP, but I’m tons of fun to shop with, I promise!

Anywho, last night I was back in the gym for my run. I swear this is the hottest July I can remember in a long, long time. I have faith that the heat and humidity will break eventually though. I did another 4 miles on the treadmill, again focusing on negative splits and getting my pace up.

  • Mile 1: 9:13
  • Mile 2: 9:13
  • Mile 3: 9:05
  • Mile 4: 8:34
  • About a 9 min/mile pace

Not too shabby. The real test will be to see whether or not I can run this pace outside and not just one a treadmill. I do keep the incline at 0.5, which they say is closest to simulating an outside run, but everyone knows outside is more difficult. I wore the 3rd and final new workout top from the bf, but I hopped in the shower too quickly when I got home and forgot to take a picture. I really loved this one though. It is ADIDAS, lime green, sleeveless, and v-neck. Both sides are completely ventilated for maximum cooling. Hopefully I’ll remember to take a picture the next time I wear it. Good job babe, 3 for 3, oh and the new iPod was light as a feather strapped to my arm last night! Speaking of strapped to the arm, I got to thinking tonight, how did people run marathons and 20 mile training runs alone before iPods existed. Seriously, running with a discman was awful because the thing skipped, and running in silence for that long just seems like torture to me. Thank god we don’t have to worry about this problem :).
After the gym, I came home and stood in front of the fridge with the doors open for a while begging something edible to jump out at me. Unfortunately the only thing staring me in the face was half a pound of uncooked ground turkey leftover from the lasagna night. I guess that meant I was cooking. I went with the easiest thing possible, seasoning the meat with Worcestershire, garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt, and McCormick’s Montreal Steak Grill Mates and formed two burger patties. With my turkey burger I enjoy some baby carrots and spinach and artichoke humus.

IMG_3178
IMG_3179
IMG_3180 I really love turkey burgers. I actually think I went “mmmm” out loud after my first bite. And this Sabra Spinach and Artichoke humus is to die for. I’m obsessed. I actually wrote them an email a while ago because I couldn’t find it in stores. Sadly they didn’t send me any, but luckily my grocery store started to carry it. And because it’s Friday and I like alliteration, I decided to go ahead and set up a Formspring account in case anyone has anything they want to ask me. So here’s the link, go ahead and ask me anything. I can’t promise to answer in a timely fashion, but I’ll probably get to it eventually. Also, please be nice.

Have a great Friday everyone!
24 Responses

  1. Great run! I am so kicking myself right now for quitting my gym membership. Treadmill would have been pure bliss yesterday. I am hoping the heat has something to do with me being ridiculously slow – guess we’ll find out in September! LOL Have a great weekend –

    • Yeah I don’t know how you are doing it. I would literally melt into a puddle on the side of the road. Plus there is no way I could wait till it started to get dark to run. I need to do it right when I get home or I won’t go.

  2. I love turkey burgers too!! And that sabra hummus IS quite amazing!! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!! 🙂

  3. I wonder about the discman thing sometimes too. I remember in college running with a walkman. (I’m old). I guess I just held it. But I only ran like 2 miles at a time.

  4. MP3 players weren’t a “thing” until I was a junior in college, I think. Before that I would take an extra towel to the gym to wrap my discman in – I’d wrap it up and shove it into the water bottle holder on the treadmill, that was the only way ot keep it from skipping. I NEVER ran outside until I got an MP3 player…I remember maybe once or twice, and I also did the oldschool walkman tape player 🙂

    • Yeah I think I got one soph year. Outside runs before that were always with my hs track team. Definitely didn’t run outside once during fresh year of college before I got an ipod.

  5. Seriously, woman, get yourself out on the road. The sooner you do it, the quicker you’ll get used to untreadmill running.

    I used to run with a Walkman on which I taped songs from the radio/dubbed from musical soundtracks borrowed from the library. YES.

    • Its tooo hotttttttttt. I thought about for a few minutes yesterday, but at 4 pm it was still 90 degrees. I don’t want to die on the side of the road. Thank god I got an iPod my soph year of college. High school was the only time I ever ran outside and that was always with the track team.

  6. I love that you brought up the good ‘ol discman. I think I ran with one a few times. But you’re right. If the skipping didn’t drive you crazy, what would you do on that long of a run with only one cd? Because come on… you’d probably end up skipping over half the songs anyways, so really, would people just listen to 5 or 6 songs for that long over and over? Blows my mind… kids these days have it so lucky… ha

  7. You’re forgetting about the walkman! I saw a lady walking down the street listening to one yesterday. Can you even BUY tapes anymore? Weird. Anyhow, my mom used to have this little portable radio that she would run with. It was about the size of a tube of chapstick. But before that people must have been BORED! Maybe they just sang to themselves.

  8. I just fell in love with turkey burgers. So delish.

    And seriously, how did runners back then do it? I would die without music…

  9. I am in love with the sabra spinach artickoke dip! And as well as the roasted pine nut! mmm soo freaking good! I’m excited for your KOP trip! I need to save a few paycheck and let loose there one weekend! Enjoy!

  10. I totally went searching for spinach and artichoke hummus too! I didn’t know Sabra carried it though! It must be our area!! I hope that you love your new MacBook.. you’ll become addicted!

    • I think we got it at McCaffrey’s. Leave it to them to have the good stuff! And I’m definitely already addicted to my mac!

  11. I used to love turkey burgers when I ate meat! I always had a tough time cooking them without them getting dry…always a challenge for me. 🙂

    Great run and a great blog!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Yeah I sometimes have a tough time judging when they are done. I’ve found that the secret is to make the middle thinner than the outsides. Then the whole thing stays nice and juicy!

Leave a Reply

