• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Yoga Class and a Recipe

First of all, I would like to say congrats to my friend Michelle who got engaged on the beach in North Carolina this morning!  See Michelle, we told you he was going to do it!

Last night I decided to venture out of my comfort zone and try a class at my gym.  I’ve never taken a real yoga class before, just done DVDs at home, so I thought I would see what a real class taught by an instructor is like.  Verdict?  Meh.  I could do without the chanting for 10 minutes at the beginning and the end, and the instructor was so quiet I couldn’t hear a single word she said.  I mean I get that yoga is supposed to be soothing and relaxing, but it would help if I could hear you when you tell us to change positions.  However, I am sore today which I like, so maybe I’ll try it again.

After the hour yoga class, I hopped on the elliptical for 30 minutes to work up a good sweat.  After the gym, I raced home to start cooking dinner for me and my sister.  I had two zucchini’s and two yellow squash that needed to be used, so Meghann’s Zucchini and Yellow Squash Lasagna seemed like a perfect choice.  I roughly followed her recipe, but included a few of my traditional lasagna ingredients also.

  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 yellow squash
  • 1 clove garlic (diced)
  • 1/2 of a small to medium onion (chopped)
  • 1/2 lb of ground turkey
  • 1 jar of pasta sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 7 oz Low Fat Ricotta Cheese
  • Low Fat Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • Fennel Seed, Oregano, Thyme, Salt, Pepper, Italian Seasoning

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, slice the zucchini and squash length wise, season with salt and pepper, place on a baking sheet, and cook for 10 minutes.

While the vegetables are cooking, chop up your garlic and onion then add to a hot pan (mine was sprayed with cooking spray) and sauté.

Once the onions are cooked, they’ll start to look translucent, add your ground turkey and cook until it is no longer pink.

Once the turkey is cooked, add your pasta sauce.  I just happened to have a jar in the fridge, but it is also easy to make your own using tomato paste and tomato sauce.  Once the sauce is added, season with all the spices.  I really enjoy using fennel seed in sauces because it gives whatever meat you use really an Italian sausage taste.

I also ended up throwing garlic and onion powder into the mix as well.  Let the sauce simmer for a few minutes to really combine the flavors.  While it is sitting, you can prepare the cheese mixture.  Place your egg and Ricotta cheese into a bowl, and combine thoroughly with a spoon.

Once everything is ready, you can begin to prepare you lasagna layers.  I sprayed my dish with cooking spray before adding the zucchini and squash.  My layers went veggies, sauce mixture, ricotta, mozzarella, repeat.

After I did the first layer, I realized that it would work better to place the veggies the other way, so I did that for the top.  Live and learn.

See, works much better this way.

Cook covered for 25 minutes, and then uncover and cook for 5-10 more depending on how the cheese on top looks.  I let mine sit for another 5 minutes once out of the oven to allow the layers to set.  Then serve!

After all that work, I was really hoping this would be insanely delicious.  It definitely was!  My sister and I both helped ourselves to seconds and there are plenty of leftovers for dinner tonight.  I didn’t even miss the noodles, I think the combination of zucchini and squash left it more flavorful than regular lasagna.  Definitely a win, and a recipe I will be repeating.

Then for desert I had this cute little cup of Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ice cream while watching a Teen Mom marathon on MTV.  They were gearing up for the start of the new season, which I started to watch but fell asleep half way through.  I’ll have to catch the last half of the episode soon.

Baskin Robbins is within eye sight of my house, very dangerous.  All in all Tuesday wasn’t so bad, and you know what it’s Wednesday already!  This post is absurdly long, so I’m going to stop babbling now, but have a great day!

28 Responses

  1. The lasagna looks so good! I’ve been meaning to try a yoga class for a really long time, but if it involves chanting count me out!
    PS- a) I love teen mom and b) I love chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream…I live for both, naturally.

  2. YUM! What a great idea — I’ll have to try that lasagna out.

  3. That looks really good. I have a ton of squash that needs to be used up.

    Teen Mom is one of my guilty pleasures.

  4. Yeah, I’m not sure if I’m ready for a class of people doing yoga… I don’t think I would be very relaxed as I attempt to get into awkward poses… hopefully you’ll start liking it better! I’m gonna hang with Jillian a little more… :p

  5. That looks so good and cheesy!

  6. I’m way too scared to go to a class and do yoga in public!

    I’m a little heartbroken that I missed Teen Mom. Good thing they play everything over and over.

  7. My mom makes the best white lasagna and has YET to share the recipe lol. As for yoga – I like the privacy of it in my home. I just can’t relax in group sessions for some reason. Well not yet at least

  8. I’m not sure I’ve ever been to a yoga class that included actual chanting. That would be awkward.

    The lasagna looks so good!

  9. Yum…that lasanga looks amazing. Who needs noodles when you have vegetables! Awesome! And congratulations to your friend Michelle. I don’t know her (obviously) but I love it when people get engaged! It is such a fun time and although I never want to do it again (haha) it was probably my most favorite day of all time!

    • Haha she called us all at work tomorrow and me and the other two girls screamed, haha. It had been almost 6 years they were dating so it was about time! So happy for her.

  10. I saw something similar on Kath’s blog the other day too. It is such a great idea! Pasta dishes are always great for large crowds but just so heavy… this would be a great alternative!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. I am total opposite of you–I think I do better with a yoga class over following a video on TV–any tips??

    • The hardest part for me was just trying to listen to her, I really had no idea what she was saying. I like the TV because I can turn it up super loud

  12. I love lasagna with lots of good fresh vegetables in it!! Looks great!!

    I much prefer yoga DVD’s, but it’s nice to go to a class every once in awhile just to mix things up. I like DVD’s b/c they get straight to the point without all the fluff! 😉

  13. Taking a new class is almost always intimidating, good for you for trying it out!

  14. Wow! That looks totally delicious!! I’ll have to remember to come back here and look for that recipe!!! Oh yeah.. I also wanted to tell you that I saw that Yoga Meltdown is only $9 at Target!

  15. […] Last night was yoga Tuesday, and I’m starting to feel like one of the regulars.  My sister liked it better too because she felt less lost this time.  Like I said before, the instructor is kind of hard to hear and understand so if you know what’s coming, it makes it a little easier.  I tried to zone out and not think about anything during yoga, but thoughts of dinner kept creeping into my head.  By the time I got home, I knew exactly what I wanted to make.  Zucchini and Squash Lasagna. […]

  16. […] was Zucchini and Yellow Squash Lasagna.  I’m still trying to figure out the difference between cooking with a gas stove and […]

  17. This recipe looks soooo good! I can’t wait to try it! In the meantime… i need to figure out weight watchers points for the recipe!!!

  18. […] mixed it with marinara, topped with some cheese, and threw it into the oven.  I’ve made zucchini and yellow squash lasagna before, so I didn’t think this would end up a complete disaster.  I was […]

Leave a Reply

