• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Breakfast For Dinner

One more day!!!! Also, I am pleased to admit that I am pretty much finished packing.  I may have packed enough to last me 3 weeks, but that is besides the point.  The bf arrives at some point tonight, tomorrow we have a billion errands to run, and then we are off to OBX bright and early Saturday morning.  I have a feeling today and tomorrow won’t be the most productive work days for me, but meh whatever.

As I was driving home from work, the temperature gauge on my car kept going between 79 and 80 which to me sounded like perfect outside running weather.  I mapped out a 4 mile route on mapmyrun.com and headed out.  At the end of mile 2, I had a really bad side cramp and my right shoulder was starting to hurt.  I took a breather, stretched everything out and started the run back home.

I wasn’t trying for a super speedy time, just wanted to make sure I could cover the distance comfortably, and overall I am pretty happy with my splits.  This is now officially the furthest I have ever run outside alone.  When I was training for Broad Street last year, all my long runs were done outside with my ex bf.  I also decided to try wearing a hat during the run, to see how I felt about it.  Verdict?  For outside runs I really enjoy it, it kept the sweat from dripping down my face and the sun off my head.  Here are the stats, miles 1 and 4 are almost the same as are miles 2 and 3.  Need to work on keeping the pace up in the middle.

Name Distance Time Avg Pace Avg Speed Max Speed Total Cals Avg HR Max HR
Total 4.00 38.16 9:33 6.3 7.8 447 165 181
Lap 1 1.00 9:25.54 9:25 6.4 7.1 111 153 169
Lap 2 1.00 9:41.32 9:41 6.2 7.8 115 171 173
Lap 3 1.00 9:44.40 9:44 6.2 7.3 109 164 174
Lap 4 1.00 9:22.33 9:22 6.4 7.7 111 170 181
Lap 5 27.24 0:03.10 10:00 6.0 7.6 1 181 181

After my run, I collapsed in a sweaty heap on my yoga map and did some ab exercises and stretches.  Then it was time to pack.  I think basically all I need to do now is throw in a pair of jeans and my toiletries and I’ll be good to go.

Dinner was again something random in an attempt to empty out the fridge, a scrambled egg and bacon wrap.

I’m just realizing now that I forgot to season the eggs, which is probably why I didn’t enjoy this as much as I could have.  Live and learn.  Tonight I have an appointment for my lady parts to get tortured (ya know, to prepare for a week-long beach trip) and then I’m picking up the bf from the train station, so I’m not sure if there will be a workout tonight.  Maybe I’ll be able to squeeze in a little Yoga Meltdown.

Oh and here’s some pics of my new cube at work, I am loving finally having my own space!

There’s a whole other part of desk and behind me and to the left, but that’s not very interesting.  It’s also officially my birthday month!  17 days until I’m the big 2-5!

16 Responses

  1. I am not really into running right now but it is def my goal for this summer. Can I ask how you got started and if you have any advise for someone very uneducated in this department!? I only do small toning exercises right now and really want to step my game up.

    • Well, I ran track and cross country all through grade school and then winter and spring track all through high school. I took a break during college and kind of just ran occasionally to workout. I really got back into it about a year and a half ago when I realized I had gained about 25 lbs since college. I signed up for the Broad Street Run, started training and lost those 25 lbs and never looked back. My advice for you would be to start small, I just sent my friend a couch to 5k (3.1 miles) training plan that starts you with a run/walk plan which is a really good way to get into running.

      • Oh wow, so you like had a pretty good background of running. I always played sports but running was never a chosen form of exercise for me. I try to “get into it” but I end up going for a jog once and forget about it. I would really appreciate if you could forward me the training plan as well! Maybe it was bc i was so unorganized trying to do it.

  2. Aw yay for having your own cubicle! And congrats on the run by yourself! I’ve never had anyone to run with but I like the time alone, it’s good thinking time. And a hat is quite handy to have 🙂

  3. Breakfast wraps are awesomeness all rolled up. And you reminded me of how bacon has been missing in my life as of late.

    Way to go on getting all the packing taken care of- since it’s your FAVORITE thing to do… lol

  4. I love breakfast for dinner. Its mr favorite meal.

    Lol you totally cracked me up with the lady part torture comment. Its always best to have a professional do it. Those do it yourself kits are better in theory.

    • Hahaha I was wondering if someone would comment on that! Yeah, I feel like I would end up in a bad situation if I tried to do it myself.

  5. I need to get a hat. I just feel like they give me a headache.

    Great run!

    Have fun on your vaca!!!!

  6. Oh congrats on the cube…adorable!! I love having pics of loved ones up all around my desk. Makes me feel happy about life, even when work sucks :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. Congrats on the new office — I can’t stand having people behind me at work. I actually had a little rearview mirror on my monitor at the old gig!

  8. For some reason, I always wear a hat when I race, but never when I just run. Not sure why! I always seem to get sunscreen in my eyes hat or not. Boo.

    Have fun on your trip!

  9. You’re a leo too, eh? 😉

Leave a Reply

