• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Things I Learned in Therapy

Happy Friday!  Mine started off great because I got a free coffee at Starbucks!  My ex’s dad was in line in front of me and bought mine for me, nothing like a free drink to start off the day on the right foot.

Last night was PT, and I am very excited to tell you all that I am officially finished with it!  No more two-hour appointments twice a week,  and I can finally get back into a normal workout routine (which is good because one of my favorite pairs of jeans wouldn’t fit over my ass this morning).  They told me not to be shy, and to call if I even felt like I was starting to have problems again.  I assured them not to worry, that I will be a giant pain in the ass.  Now I am on my own, it’s definitely a little scary.  I’ll really have to make sure I keep up with my strengthening and stretching.  Three and a half months of physical therapy is more than enough for me, I do not want to end up back there.  At least I got a free t-shirt out of it, I do love free t-shirts.

I actually did learn some things during my weeks and weeks of PT.  I thought I’d share some tips.

If you have problems with your toes falling asleep, try tying your laces on the outside of your foot.  It keeps the knot from cutting off your circulation at the pulse point.

Strong hips and glutes = happy injury free knees!

Stretch, stretch, stretch, stretch.  Really this is the most important lesson I learned.  I really used to half ass the stretching after a run because I was typically sick of being in the gym at that point.

Aaaah, it hurts so good!  I’m going to work on making a video of the actual exercises that I did during my weeks of pt.  I’m hoping that it will be helpful for everyone else in preventing IT band injuries.  It will also help me not forget what the hell I’m supposed to do, haha.

Dinner last night was nothing new around here.  I’m still dealing with a broken oven, and since I don’t want to blow the house up anytime soon it had to be something either stove top, microwave, or toaster oven cookable.  I went with toaster oven.

Flat bread pizza, I know you’re all shocked.  Unfortunately there is only one piece of this delish flat bread left in my freezer, my sister and I may be battling it out in the near future.

Pizza sauce, leftover taco meat from last week, cheese, and turkey pepperoni.  The seasoning in the ground beef really did the job of adding flavor that I normally would be missing since I didn’t have any peppers or onion.  And then, I celebrated my completion of PT with a Pineapple Vodka and Sprite Zero.  Um any vodka lovers out there I recommend the Sky Infusions flavored vodka.  Raspberry and Pineapple are my favorite, the Grape reminds me of cough medicine.

I also watched a horrible Lifetime movie with Kristin Stewart circa 2004.  Don’t ask me why, I blame the vodka.  Alright, that’s all I got for today, someone tell me their fun weekend plans!

20 Responses

  1. HA! I think I actually caught part of that one a while back. They probably show it every 5 minutes. That was the one where she nailed the “I’m biting my lip and tucking my hair behind my ear” method acting technique.

  2. For some reason I have decided that I cannot STAND Skyy vodka…but for the life of me I can’t remember why. I’m sure it involved drinking far too much of it at one time 🙂

  3. Ahh! Great pointers! I give a half ass stretch after my workouts too because I am a) a little tired and want to go home and b) theres nowhere to sit down and just stretch without people walking all over you! Dumb 24 hour fitness!
    Congrats on being done with the PT girl!

  4. Oh Kristen Stewart… she’s freaking everywhere… ugh.

    Hooray for no more PT! And that’s kind of an interesting thing about the shoelaces- I’ve had that happen to me and had no idea why…

    • Yeah I was complaining about it one day and my therapist was like well duh, you have a tight knot tied over that pulse point.

  5. Stretching changed my life! It really is so beneficial. Woohoo, no more PT!! 🙂

  6. YAY! I am so excited for you! Are you all clear to resume normal exercise now?

  7. My toes have always fallen asleep when I run. Its so annoying, thanks for posting that! 🙂

  8. Congratulations on your graduation! Hopefully you stay away from PT for a good long while. I, too, half-ass stretching. I’ve always wondered if there is any benefit to doing it hours after running…like, while watching TV at night. Because in the morning, there ain’t no time. Or, there is time, but I have to use it to read blogs/curl my eyelashes.

    • I’m so nervous now to do anything because I don’t want to start hurting and have to go back! I usually foam roll at night when I’m watching TV. I only curl my eyelashes on Friday’s haha.

  9. Wow that pizza looks SO GOOD!!!
    And congrats on being done with PT! I know how you feel! I’ve learned the same lessons. Stretching is something that is so neglected but so important… and now I know!

  10. haha, ALWAYS blame the vodka 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  11. Haha, sometimes those Lifetime special suck you in! Thanks for the injury tips – that lacing thing is interesting.

Leave a Reply

