Caribbean Jerk

Ahh summer Friday’s in the office, what a treat.  Our office does summer hours (work an extra hour Mon-Thurs and take a half day or half day plus vacation day on Friday’s), so half the people aren’t here and the other half only work a half day.  Unless of course you are me and have the distinct treat of not being able to participate in summer hours because you’re not a permanent employee, no matter that I’ve worked here for 2.5 years.  Not that I’m bitter or anything.  Anyway moving on.

Last night I did the Brooklyn Decker workout video on exercise TV again, and I’m really liking it.  I wore my Garmin so that I could try to gauge my heart rate and calories burned, the calorie counter didn’t work but my heart rate ranged from about 138-156 for the 30 minute workout so I’m guess anywhere from 220-270ish calories.

After my workout, I moved on to preparing dinner.  I had chicken marinading in my new favorite, Lawrys Caribbean Jerk and chopped up some peppers and onions to also marinade.  Then it was onto the grill for kabobs.

With some Annie’s Organic Whole Wheat White Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese on the side.  Seriously this marinade is to die for.  As my sister put it, “I want to swim in this marinade.”  I’ve made chicken kabobs twice so far this summer and am already through a whole bottle.  Ya out there Lawrys?!?! Send me some coupons or some free Caribbean Jerk marinade, pleeeeasse.

Dessert was a glass (or three) of red wine and a chocolate covered strawberry, all while enjoying 3 hours of Grey’s Anatomy on Lifetime and then too many hours of the Real Housewives of NYC.  I think I need a TV intervention.

Today after work, my sister and I have “reservations’ at Chick-Fil-A to try their new spicy chicken sandwich for free.  Not going to lie, I’m pretty excited about this.  You can go to their website and search for a location near you, and make a reservation anytime between now and June 5.  The sandwich will be added to the menu on Monday.  I’ll be sure to let you all know how it is, haha.

Tomorrow I have a date with my BFF and old college roomie who I haven’t seen since Christmas of 2008!  So sad, we used to share a house and a wall and now we never see each other :(.  We’re going to get our nails did, have lunch, and do some shopping at King of Prussia Mall.  I am beyond excited.  Jilly I’m pretty much treating this like a date and plan on getting all dolled up for you ;).

That’s about it as far as plans for the weekend go, what are you all up to this weekend?  Have a great Friday!

19 Responses

  1. Your job is LAME. Getting treated like a second-class citizen is the worst. Have fun with the old roomie – I spent a long weekend with my college roommate last fall, and it was incredible. We were like, “This was the best weekend…ever…”

  2. I am going to have to pick up that marinade! I love kabobs!! Great summer meal!! 🙂

  3. Not being a permanent employee sucks that way. I did that for awhile when I worked at the bank. No fun!!

    I want that marinade!

  4. Awww I’m seeing my bff from high school today and I am SO EXCITED! It’s awful how we lose touch with someone we used to be so close to. Other than that, I’m going out with another friend tomorrow night and spending the day at the pool Sunday. Hopefully seeing the boy somewhere in there..
    Those kabobs sound delicious!!! And wine and chocolate covered strawberries? Does it get better?

  5. I agree about the Lawry’s. They’re awesome! And they should SEND ME SOME as well…. hello Lawry’s? It’s me, Amy!

    Have fun on your BFF date! 😉

  6. Those kabobs DO sound wonderful!

  7. Kabobs look awesome! I want to try that marinade, and maybe swim in it? Have a blast at Chik Fil A and with your BFF!!

  8. Ick. My job isn’t even cool enough to offer some of the employees summer hours, which I think is uber lame. Why can’t we be our own bosses and make mass quantities of money?

    The kebabs sound great! I love a good marinade.

    Have fun on your BFF date 🙂

  9. Your office sounds LAME! Hopefully someone from HR sees your blog and takes pity on you :). 2.5 years later you totally deserve it!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  10. That sucks that you don’t get to participate in the summer hours. Is it because you are hourly and it would affect your pay or do they just not let non-permanent employees do it? I would be bitter too.

  11. That looks delicious! I bet it would be good with shrimp too if you like seafood. I’ve been on a shrimp kick lately 🙂

Leave a Reply

