• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Memorial Day Weekend

If it’s at all possible, I feel more tired after this long weekend!  Or maybe it’s just that after the extra day off, I find it even harder to drag myself into work.  Yeah that’s probably the case.  Anyway the weekend was full of eating, drinking, poolside lounging, and even a trip to the beach.  It was exactly the way I wanted to kickoff the summer!

Friday after work, the bf, sister, and I celebrated the start to the weekend with a Mexican fiesta.  I cooked chicken in the crock pot all day for some delicious chicken tacos, and we drank Margarita’s.

I found the recipe for this Black Bean and Corn Salsa on Anna’s blog, and omg was it good.  Although for future reference I will exercise more caution when cutting up a jalapeño pepper because damn did my eyes start to burn when I took my contacts out.  Whoops!

And of course, and icy cold Margarita.  The rest of Friday night was just kind of spent relaxing, enjoying some cocktails, and watching TV.  Saturday morning, I woke up and went on my 2.5 mile run.  It went really well, no knee pain, and I averaged a 9:10 pace, which is faster than I’ve been, so that was exciting.  The bf and sis hit up the gym, and after they got home the three of us lounged at the pool for the rest of the day.

Saturday night we went out with a few people to watch the Flyers game, sucks that they lost but it was an entertaining game and very high scoring!  Sunday was pretty much just a repeat of Saturday.  We spent the day at the pool, and then I came home and grilled dinner for everyone.  The same turkey burgers from the other night, grilled corn on the cob, and roasted zucchini and yellow squash.  Yummmmmy.

Yesterday, my sis and I woke up bright and early to get a run in before heading to the beach for the day.  We did 2 miles, and man was it already steamy out at 8 am.  My knee did not feel as good as it did on Saturday, we’ll see how it looks at PT tonight.  The beach was absolutely perfect yesterday.  It was warm, but not so hot you were sweating, and the cool ocean breeze kept you from having to jump in the freezing cold ocean.

Not a cloud in the sky.  Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to only be an hour away from the beach.  After the beach, we ventured over to a Memorial Day BBQ at a family friend’s house where thunderstorms but somewhat of a damper on the plans, but it was still fun.

Me and my sis

The bf and myself, someone forgot to put sunscreen on their kneeeees, haha.  Dinner was fantastic, there was a BBQ turkey which I have never had before but it was amazing!

Homemade whole grain garlic and cheesy bread.  I would have been content with just a whole loaf of this :).

And what is a bbq without potato salad?  Not a bbq in my opinion!

I lover summertime and bbqs!  So that’s what I was up to this weekend, did you all have a nice Memorial Day?

22 Responses

  1. love your dress! Glad you got to do some running.

  2. Oh boy, do I know the horrible sting of capsaicin in the eye. Also, in the cracks of dry skin. Owie. You and your sister look so darn happy and summery. It almost makes me happy that it is hot out. Good luck surviving the work week – at least it’s only four days!

  3. I loved the pictures…your bf is a hottie!!! Such a cute couple you guys are! 🙂

  4. I love your dress!!! So summery!

    Glad you liked the salad (but sorry about your eyes!!!)! 🙂

  5. I’m seriously envious of the tan… lucky girl! 🙂

    Your weekend sounded awesome- but I know what you mean with the “weekend hangover” on your first day back. It’s even more killer when the weekend is longer than usual. Blah…. More coffee please…

    • I’m so excited about the way my tan is starting out this summer! I am really struggling today, I just keep thinking about how tomorrow is wednesday!

  6. You are SOO very lucky to live so close to the beach, I’d KILL for that!!! Glad you had a great weekend! Mine was pretty uneventful for the most part, but good!

  7. Looks like a great weekend! I had a good one too, but the beach would have made it even better 🙂

    I hope your PT appointment goes well and you can keep running!

  8. You look so pretty!!! Your mexican fiesta looks delicious. My friend made us something very similar to that black bean and corn salsa, but put italian dressing in instead. So yummy!!

    We had went to my mom’s memorial day cookout yesterday and she had potato salad. It was great like always!! 🙂

  9. At least today is Tuesday though! Sounds like you had a perfect weekend.

  10. Sounds like an awesome weekend!! Any weekend that involves margaritas is bound to be good 🙂

  11. The ocean looks so beautiful! I miss ocean. Lakes just aren’t the same IMO! ❤ your dress and how you pointed out your BFs burned knees. 😉

  12. I wish I lived close to the beach. It would be so nice to just go out for the day and relax laying down getting a tan. Lucky!! 😉

  13. Which beach did you go to?

Leave a Reply

