• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Hello heat wave!

It feels like July over here in the Northeast this week, and I am not complaining at all.  July just happens to be my favorite month, I’m sure the fact that my birthday is in July has nothing to do with that, nope nothing at all :).

I dragged my sister out on a run with me yesterday when I got home from work, and we did a HOT 2 miles.  By the time we got home I think we both felt like our heads were going to explode.  This is what I look like after 2 miles in 86 degree weather.

Purple in the face and covered in sweat.  I actually ended up with a cute racer back tan-line from the 25 minutes outside.  That’s my favorite summertime running outfit, I scored that Under Armour top at a sale at Dick’s for like $15.  Nike tempo running shorts are the only shorts I can run in, I would buy them in every single color if I could.

After our run, I quickly started whipping up dinner for us.  On Monday I worked out a meal plan for the rest of the week, and Parmesan Crusted Stuffed Chicken was last nights.  I did everything almost exactly the same as before with one small addition.  Right before the chicken went in the oven I drizzled it with some Trader Joe’s Sweet Poppyseed dressing, and oh man did it make all the difference!  Instead of using a baking sheet, I also used a small casserole dish, which allowed the chicken to sit in the dressing.

With a few more asparagus spears on the side that were roasted in olive oil, salt, and pepper while the chicken cooked, and Uncle Ben’s Wild Rice.  The chicken was moist with just the right combination of spicy and sweet.  If you are going to make this recipe I highly recommend some sort of sweet sauce to accompany it.

Chicken, melty cheese, and asparagus.  Yum.  This was my sisters first time having this, and she loved it.  She said she was glad I only made one piece of chicken for each of us so that she didn’t go back and eat more, haha.

I don’t think I will attempt running outside today since it is supposed to be 92 and humid.  Maybe I’ll swim, although I still haven’t gotten new ear plugs and swimming without them is just a huge pain in the ass so we’ll see.  I am so so excited about the forecast for this weekend, and am pretty sure a trip to the beach is in my future for Sunday and Monday!  Eeeek I can’t wait, official start to summer in t-minus 3 days and counting!

20 Responses

  1. oh, that looks fantastic!! I will definitely have to try that one.

    I also love that poppyseed dressing on a salad with spinach, sliced almonds and strawberries or mangos – so good.

    Have you tried TJs Goddess dressing? Its unbelievable.

  2. I used to only run in those shorts too!! I need to pick up a new pair (since errr, I gained 30 pounds since I used to wear them……..). Your meal looks great, I love stuffed chicken b/c it usually involves cheese!! 😉

  3. I love the TJ dressing… it’s where I’ve picked up quite a few good ones!

    And I love Dick’s and their clearance racks. I swear it’s like I don’t buy a thing without a red tag on it.

  4. You’re glowing! I ran at 6:45 this morning and looked like I had hopped out of an oven. Felt like it too. I like how tempo shorts fit, but I have this kind of shameful desire to run in booty shorts. Not gonna happen, but I dream.

    • Yeah it was hot already this morning when I was driving to work. Haha booty shorts, I found my old hs track uniform awhile ago and tried it on, thank god I was 25 lbs thinner in hs when I had to wear butt huggers and spandex tops.

  5. i’d say you look pretty darn good after 2 mi. in HOT weather. i look like death w/ such a red & blotchy face. noooot attractive.

  6. I love that running tank! So cute.

    I have been really hesitant to run outside since it’s been hot. Well I’ve been hesitant to run period since my half, lol. But I need to get started soon!

    • Thank you! Yeah since I had to take so much time off I’ve been itching to finally get outside and run, and now its getting so hot already!

  7. Ugh don’t even bother today. My face was red for a good hour after my run haha.

  8. haha, you look much cuter after a run than i ever do!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  9. I did 4 this morning and it totally kicked my butt! The conversation in my head was, ‘Ok, you can stop when you get to the stop sign.” Then, “Lets see how much further you can go, you can always walk that last little bit.” To, “I bet you can get to that next stop sign.” and on and on. 🙂 It was not 86 but it was a temp I am not used to at 7am.

  10. Running in the head is HARD!! lol
    I LOVE those shorts. I want some! 🙂

  11. Nothing like a sweaty run outside!! Your chicken looks delish!

  12. You are superwoman, I can’t imagine jogging in the heat since I feel like I’m dying when it’s about 16°C (60°F). As for the weather.. it’s pouring here in BC but still warmish. Getting drenched isn’t too appealing but I’ll take warm rain over sunny heat any day. I am jealous of your weather though, I would much rather be wearing cute summer dresses then pants right now.

  13. I’m so jealous of your trip to the beach!! I would KILL for that!
    Mmm the chicken looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

