• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A brick workout

Yesterday was an absolutely miserable day in Philadelphia.  It was rainy and only about 50 degrees, which for May 18 is just uncool.  All I could think about was how cold the gym pool would feel on this already wet and cold day, and I wanted to just curl up on the couch in sweatpants instead.  Luckily, my sister was waiting for me to go to the gym with and off we went together, me to the pool and her to the treadmill.  The pool definitely felt cooler than usual and I really had to talk myself into that first dive under water, but as usual after a few strokes I began to warm up.

Since I was given the OK at physical therapy last week to work on running 2 miles 3 or 4 times a week, I shortened my pool workout a little.

  • 200 m warm-up
  • 6 x 50 m
  • 4 x 50 m
  • 2 x 50 m
  • 200 m cool-down

It took a little over 30 minutes to complete, and right before the last set my ear plugs died on me and my head filled with water.  Delightful.  After my swim I went into the locker room to change for a run.  Why is it so difficult to put on a sports bra after being in the pool?  I swear I’m always standing there with it half on, flailing around trying to reach up in the back and pull it down.  I finally made it out of the locker room and found a treadmill next to my sis.  I did about 25 minutes on the treadmill total.

  • 5 minutes at about 4.0 mph at 2.5 incline
  • about 17 minutes at 6.0 mph at 1.5 incline
  • 3 minute cool-down

Total distance was something like 2.4 miles, pretty much what I’ve been doing at PT.  It felt pretty decent, only a few moments of pain towards the very end, but they went away as soon as I finished running.  I don’t know, I still feel like I’m not getting any better and that I should be able to run more than 2 miles without pain after 8 weeks of physical therapy.  Very frustrating.

While my sister and I did some abs, we were trying to brainstorm about what to have for dinner.  I’ve been horrible at grocery shopping while my mom is away and we are down to practically nothing in the fridge.  I would go today, but both my sister and I will be away all weekend and the food would go bad.  So it is pretty much take-out for dinner tonight and tomorrow.  Anyway, so after a lot of “I don’t know, what do you want” between the both of us we finally decided on Chik-Fil-A.  I got my usual grilled chicken sandwich and waffle fries, and a few chicken strips because my stupid lunch salad did not leave me satisfied.

Yummy, yummy.  Then last night was the last episode of LOST before the 2.5 hour series finale on Sunday.  I liked last nights episode, we are getting more and more answers as The End nears.  It’s really bittersweet because I can’t wait to see what happens, but I don’t want the show to end!

Happy Wednesday!  I am counting down the days till a 3 day weekend next week!

15 Responses

  1. Chiki Fil A + LOST??!!

    sounds amazing

  2. Ahahaha… yeah, I attribute the sports bra issue to my skin always feeling dry and icky from the chlorine. But I’ve totally done that- where the bra is somehow stuck in a way where it’s lodged under my armpits yet still in my face and I’ve got one free arm waving around like crazy.

    I’m so graceful.

    • Exactly!! I fear the day I can’t reach it myself and have to ask some strange person in the gym locker room for help.

  3. i totally started singing “she’s a brick… house…” when i saw your post title.

    also, thank you for making me crave french fries at 10:30 a.m. 😉

  4. Hey, 2.4 miles is better than no miles, and running is running. I didn’t realize you swam with earplugs, but that is terrific. I usually just shake my head for five minutes after getting out of the pool to get the water out. Because I enjoy looking like a crazy person.

    • Oh I have to, I can’t stand having water in my ears for even a minute so I have to stop after every lap to shake the water out if I don’t have them.

  5. Awww…so sorry for teh gross weather!! I hope it warms up by the time we get back up to PA next week! 50 degrees is WAY too cold for late May!

  6. Ick. Rainy and cold is the worst possible weather in my opinion.

    I think waffle fries are a great choice for dinner!

  7. haha Ive had the same issue in the summer when I hop in my parents pool before a run so it doesnt seem so hot. The damn sports bra sticks to my skin like super glue. However, I have the same issue when trying take it off after a really sweaty run.

  8. I don’t follow lost but I keep hearing from articles about how the final episode is supposed to “lose” viewers

    I hate putting on swimsuits and sports bras etc after being wet; it’s so hard and they roll up and it’s embarrassing- you’re totally not the only one

    chickfila is great; I know some employees for the corporation and they operate with great business practices

  9. Haha, I have that sports bra issue when I take a shower even. It always gets so twisted in the back.

    Chik-fil-a’s fries are so good.

  10. I live close to Newtown… that’s crazy! Are you going to do any races soon (once you’re better of course)??

Leave a Reply

