• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Dear Crock Pot, I love you

Whoever invented the crock pot is a genius, seriously.  Throw some stuff into a container, add a little liquid, turn it on and head to work, 8 hours later dinner is ready, perfect!  Yesterday morning before I left for work, I put two chicken breasts, onion, garlic, yellow pepper, Mango salsa, taco seasoning and water into my crock pot and had my sister turn it on around 11.  When I walked in the door at 4 pm, my house smelled so good I was devastated to have to go back out for PT and hold of on dinner for a few more hours.

PT was the same as always, heating, stretching, strengthening, running.  I did 30 minutes on the treadmill last night, 18 of which were running.  At the end of the 18 I felt the familiar stabs of pain in the outside of my knee, so I walked for a 7 minute cool down.  Last night the pt dude gave me the go ahead to run outside 3-4 times a week.  I’m supposed to work on doing two miles, and stay away from hills.  I’m a little apprehensive about this, since I am currently feeling pain at less than 2 miles, but we shall see what happens.

Now on to what you’ve been waiting for, the food pictures!  I got home from PT and took the chicken out and got to shredding it.  It was so moist, it literally fell apart the second I touched it with the fork.

I may have had a few bites while shredding.

My sister was awesome had the shells and toppings out and ready to go when I got home.  There was leftover corn and black beans from Quesadilla night, sour cream, lettuce, salsa, and cheese.  We also had both hard and soft shells.

Um, I think I ate four, haha.  Totally could have eaten more, but I didn’t want to completely over do it :).  This was really so super easy, I will be creating it over and over again

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

  • 2 large Chicken Breasts
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 of an onion
  • 1/2 a yellow pepper
  • 1 pack of Old El Paso Taco Seasoning
  • A few tablespoons of salsa (I’ll probably use more salsa and less water next time)
  • 1ish cup of water, might have been a little more

Put the chicken in the bottom of the crock pot, then combine the water(or salsa) and seasoning in a bowl, and add on top.  Add the chopped veggies and garlic, and cook on low for 6-8 hours.  Deliciousness will follow.

I am so incredibly happy that it is Friday, it’s kind of insane.  I am hoping to hit up a happy hour after work outside somewhere, but the looming thunderstorms in the forecast may change my plans.  The bf is currently on a plane from VA to NYC, I think he plans on then getting on a train to head here, so fingers crossed.  Happy Friday all, any cool weekend plans?

20 Responses

  1. I wish I would stop receiving your emails before I go to sleep. Because now I’m always hungry before I go to bed and eat whatever I can get my hands on!

  2. Yum! I’m so bad about not using our crock pot…I need to use it more!!

  3. That looks so good! I really need to invest in a crock pot!

  4. I love my crock pot but paranoid at leaving it on while no one is home all day. I know, I know that is what it is for but I worry about my doggies, especially since one is crated.

  5. I will toast you at an imaginary happy hour… 😉

    And heeeeeeyyyyy- that’s awesome you’re getting green light to run! Happy Friday!

  6. I should totally invest in a crock pot…so perfect for people who are on the go!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  7. I LOVE my crock pot. Its wonderful.
    Ive been wanting tacos pretty badly lately, so I think Im going to give this a try on the weekend 🙂

  8. Hey, big ups to the BF for getting his act together! And congratulations on getting the go-ahead to run…but please, please stop if it hurts. The PT dudes aren’t all-knowing, even with their magical ultrasounds.

  9. Oh yum, those crock pot chicken tacos look great!! I love easy recipes like this, thanks!! 🙂

  10. Oh totally agree…crockpot inventor I love thee!

  11. Oh yuuuuum that looks delicious!!! I will have to try that!
    Yay for the bf!

  12. Looks amazing. Going to snag this and double it so I can feed the little people too. Good luck with the PT. I hope the pain goes away soon.

  13. i love tacos! hope your leg feels better soon, make sure to take it easy outside 🙂

  14. I sometimes wonder how I lived so long without a crock pot. It really is ridiculously easy and oddly delicious…

  15. I love tacos! They’re one of the foods that I have multiple servings of because they are so.freaking.good.

Leave a Reply

