• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Sad

I should be running down Broad Street right now with 30,000 other crazy people, but instead I am sitting here blogging, sigh.  Not going to lie, I almost started crying watching the coverage on ABC this morning.  Next year you are mine Broad Street, and hopefully I’ll be running one of the Philly half marathons in the fall.  Fingers crossed.

Last night I recruited my mom to go out to dinner, and we drove into Princeton to the Witherspoon Grill.  Since it was such a gorgeous night, there was about an hour wait for an outside table, but I was willing to rough it at the bar with a few glasses of Sangria while we waited.  For an appetizer we ordered the Crab and Artichoke dip, and oh man was it good.  I’m pretty sure that I ate the majority of it, and finally made the waitress take it away before I started licking the plate.

april 169Since I was deprived of real food all week due to the fact that I couldn’t swallow, I decided to splurge and order the burger.  Best decision ever.  For a dollar extra each, I added 2 hour sautéed onions, and American cheese.  The onions made this burger.

april 173   april 171

I couldn’t even make it through half of this, which mean leftovers for lunch, yessss! Haha.  This really was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had, the bun was soft and doughy, the burger was cooked with the perfect amount of pink remaining, and each bite was juicy and full of flavor.  The fries weren’t too bad either :).

The painters are finally done in my yard, so I am off to try and get a tan again today.  Also, I don’t know where everyone got the idea that I have this lovely pool, haha but sadly all I have is a slab of concrete.  My townhome community has a pool, but that doesn’t open until Memorial Day weekend unfortunately.  If any one who lives near me does have a pool, I will be more than happy to come over and keep you company though.  How come no one reminded me that I’m on antibiotics and should probably use some sunscreen?! Good thing I remembered.  The last time I attempted to tan while on antibiotics I ended up so burnt I thought my nose and forehead were going to fall off.  Granted I was on spring break and in the middle of the Caribbean, but it was not pretty.

DSCN0087_JPG.sized Seriously, look at that tan line, it looks like I’m wearing a white bikini under my top.  I’m one of those weirdo 95% Irish people that doesn’t typically burn and can get by with using 4 SPF, unless I am on antibiotics.  It was really cute when my forehead was swollen, not.  Alright, I’m going to force myself to turn off Broad Street coverage, enjoy my Starbucks, and head outside.

Happy Sunday everyone! 

27 Responses

  1. Sorry you’re not running today 😦 Next year you will kick it’s butt!!

  2. Next year you will OWN Broad street!

  3. You need too stop with the pics of that awsome looking burger! I might have too fire up the grill! Those are some tan line’s!

  4. damn woman! cute pic though…sorry about the race but I am glad to see your appetite has returned. (Seinfeld quote: “EAT EAT, YOU’RE SKIN AND BONES!)

  5. OH honey, I’m sorry you’re feeling a little down about not running today. So many athletes have to deal with these same situations at least once. I know there have been a few half marathons I’ve signed up for but couldn’t run due to knee pain. Sucks. But you will be back stronger than ever next year!!!!!! 🙂

    That crab dip and burger look AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! Yummmmmm!!!

  6. Aw, missy, I’m sorry you’re bummed. But there will be so many other races on days that don’t suck hairy balls like today. Sincerely, your burning-and-peeling blog friend, sarah.

  7. You’ll be there next year, I have no doubts!

  8. Geesh, even the bun on that burger looks tasty! good choice on ordering it!

    sorry you are feeling bummed–youll be back next year and be better than ever!

  9. I need a hamburger. Like right now. I mean, I just ate lunch. But I need that in my life.

    And screw Broad Street! You’ll rock out the half marathon this fall instead.

    And I’m serious still… I’m bringing myself and vodka. 🙂 If you take me to that hamburger paradise place you sometimes mention. That’s the deal.

  10. Theres always next year.

    I know the feeling though – I still want to mow down all the runners on the street with my car. If I cant run they shouldnt either! You’re welcome to join me, I’ll even let you drive if you want!

  11. Next year you will kick Broad Street’s ass.

  12. YES YES YES…run the Philly Half Marathon in November!

    I hope you enjoyed sunning by the concrete slab! 🙂

  13. Haha girl i’m the same way with tanning!!! I NEVER burn… but when I do, it’s BAD.

    That burger looks amazing!! and I don’t even eat red meat. Holy cow. And the dip? Um, yum! You totally deserved the splurge!

    So sorry you are not able to run 😦 I know how it feels. But next year, girl, we’re going to be kicking some BUTT!!

  14. Your tan line wasn’t that bad, at least not compared to the tan lines on a girl I saw recently. She was burnt so badly that when she changed from shorts to a bathing suit, it still looked like she was wearing white shorts. It was bad.. and I felt kind of sorry for her. Then I remembered that she got to go to Mexico and all my feelings of pity flew out the window. 😉

  15. aw i’m sorry you didn’t get to run today, but next year will be here before you know it and your health comes first! oooh those onions look fab!

  16. I did the same thing yesterday morning. I really wanted to run the Broad Street, but I had a bachelorette party and couldn’t get there in time. I can’t wait until next year!

  17. I love a big, juicy burger once in a while. Yours looks fantastic :). Grilled burgs are just so warm weather appropriate!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  18. So funny that you got teary when watching the Broad Street coverage…during my first 2 miles, I got teary just thinking about how I could be in my nice air-conditioned bed with my husband and dogs instead of on the humid nasty streets with 30,000 sweaty people 🙂 Seriously, so sorry you had to miss it — but it’ll be there next year (and hopefully on a day with better conditions)!

Leave a Reply

