• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Hamburger Helper

I was stalking UPS tracking all day yesterday watching my shipping status update and hoping my purchases from Victoria’s Secret would be on my doorstep when I got home from work.  They were not.  I sadly trudged up the stairs to pull on my swimsuit and headed out to the gym.

The pool last night was the most crowded I have ever seen it.  Usually for at least some length of my swim I am the only person in the pool, but last night every lane had someone in it at all times.  Luckily for me I managed to grab one while it was empty and didn’t have to share, I hate sharing.  I did my usual workout and felt pretty good.  During my warm-up my arms and legs felt heavy, but that went away by the time I started my sets.  After my pool work-out, which took about 35-40 minutes, I walked on the treadmill at an incline for 15 minutes.  I was going to do 25, but my hip started to feel funny so I cut the time short.  Then the necessary stretches and ab work.

When I walked up to my front door after the gym, there was a large box sitting on my front stoop.  I may have let out a little squeal of glee :).  Speaking of Glee, it came back last night, wooo!  Anyway, I immediately ripped open the box and tried on my new digs.

Horrible Crackberry pic, but I sent it to the bf also.  It occurred to me only after looking at everything that I ordered the two tube tops in JMU colors, haha do we think I loved my college?  I also got a pair of Havaianas flip-flops and a dress.  I love getting things in the mail, so exciting!

Dinner was a homemade Hamburger Helper.  I used a box of Trader Joe’s organic white cheddar mac and cheese, and the last of my leftover hamburgers from last week.  Funny thing though, we were out of regular milk so I used 3 tbsp of Vanilla Soy Milk, interesting.  The mac and cheese definitely had a vanilla taste to it, still good though.

Yum.  While the TJ’s mac and cheese isn’t as cheesy as the Kraft 3 cheese, I still think it’s just as tasty.  Then for dessert I had a Skinny Cow Chocolate Truffle Bar.

I love these things, they are so good.  I enjoyed my dessert while watching last nights episode of LOST.  Which is getting crazy, btw.  I definitely let out a holy shit last night while watching at one point.  Still loving it though, the previews for next week featured that crazy ass song from Willy Wonka and totally creeped me out, weird.

So I think the boyfriend is coming tomorrow, although I’m not quite sure because he hasn’t told me whether it will be Thursday or Friday.  Also, I think he may have finally decided on a law school so we may be celebrating that this weekend.  Happy Wednesday everyone!

22 Responses

  1. Ahhh, I used to LOVE Hamburger Helper when I was a kid. I would beg my mom to make it– what a weirdo little kid 🙂

    I love the idea of making a grown-up healthier version. And love, love, love getting new clothes in the mail! That dress looks super cute!

  2. i think i have that same dress in yellow!!

  3. I heart tube tops… I find them a summer essential. Although I have no idea how I keep them up being as how there’s nothing there to support them.

    You just inspired me to make some homemade hamburger helper… as a way to use all the free beef I get from the ‘rents and the farm… it’s starting to stock pile because I don’t eat it nearly as much as they think I do…. hmmm… wanna come over soon for burgers? 🙂

    • Haha anything with a built in bra is a summer time essential, I hate having to wear a bra in the summer. I have the same problem with not having anything there to support them. And I would love to come over for a burger!

  4. I haven’t had mac and cheese in an absurdly long time. I think I kind of OD’d on the Annie’s stuff in high school, when I would consistently eat an entire box for dinner. Oh, teenage metabolism.

    And, thank you blogs for telling me that Glee returned. I watched it all last season and have apparently been under a rock to not know it came back. At least there’s Hulu (still free, right?)

    • Yeah I go through stages when I eat a lot of it, and then I take a break. It’s so good and easy though. If Hulu’s not free you can watch on Fox.com!

  5. Im obsessed with Glee although I was a littttttle disappointed by song selections last night..and what is with this Jessie character…no good!

    I really want to get in the pool at the gym because sometimes swimming feels so effortless, have you noticed a huge change in your muscles?!

    • Next week is the Madonna episode, I’m excited for that one! My arms and shoulders definitely feel stronger, I’m not sure if they look any different though.

  6. Can you believe I’ve never had hamburger helper?!

    Yay for the boyfirned coming in town and even bigger yay for a fellow Lostie! It is one of the only things my husband and I both love to watch and get really into. What are we going to do when it’s over?!

    • No, I cannot believe that, haha! Oh the bf watches it too, and all communication between us stops between the hours of 9-10, and then resumes after to talk about it, haha. I plan on starting over and watching from the beginning when it ends.

  7. Good for you on the workout front! I love that you’ve taken up swimming. It’s so challenging!

    And I love the VS shipment! They really do have some amazing stuff. I always order their bathing suits because I love that you can get the bra cupped ones- not the ones that show the underwire, just the ones that have some support and oomph, you know? Makes all the difference!

    I love that you made a hamburger helper type dish! I absolutely loved that as a kid! Looks delicious!!!

  8. I made macaroni with vanilla almond milk once by accident. It was surprisingly good.

    I LOVE getting stuff in the mail! Its so exciting.

  9. Your VS purchases look fun! I hope the BF comes so you can model! 🙂

  10. Congrats to the BF!
    Your homemade hamburger helper looks delicious!!!! Cheeseburger Hamburger Helper is something I randomly crave… odd, I know.
    Cute dress! I loooove VS but sadly, my bank account does not.

  11. Packages in the mail are the best way to lift my spirits. I love VS clothes but they are a little pricey; I usually wait for the Semi Annual!

    And Glee was a little disappointing but I had it built up pretty big…much like next weeks. Madonna ep. should be epic! I may/may not already be listening to madonna in preperation!

  12. I love getting packages in the mail. So fun.

    I like Skinny Cows a lot too. My favorite is probably the ice cream sandwich wheels.

  13. dude. i’m ALWAYS hungry when i read your blog. would it be possible for you to mail me some food??

    thanks!

Leave a Reply

