• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

It’s baaaaaaaaaaack, baseball season returned last night, and despite a Yankee loss to the Bo Sox I couldn’t be more excited.  The beginning of baseball season means summer, tailgates, hot dogs, and bbq’s are right around the corner.  Very exciting indeed.  This weekend was jam-packed, and I barely had time to breathe let alone sit down at a computer with the blogs, so I apologize, but I will get back to reading today.

Friday was going exactly how I had planned, I left work at 3:30, made it home, and was back out the door on the way to the train station by 4:05.  The 4:32 train out of Hamilton, NJ was the express so it was only 67 minutes long instead of the usual 84, and I was really hoping to catch it.  I made it to the station with 10 minutes to spare, parked my car, and got my ticket.  One minute before the train was due to arrive in the station they announced that it had been cancelled.  Ugh, seriously?  I was not a happy camper.  Luckily the next train was only 8 minutes later, even if it was a 20 minute longer ride.  I made it to NYC at a little after 6, and to the bf’s apartment by 6:30ish.

We had dinner plans with Alex’s aunt and dad, and met them at a restaurant called The Smith.  It was my first time meeting his aunt, so I didn’t take any pictures of anything, but it was delicious.  I ordered a pasta dish with zucchini, and peppers, and garlic with a lemon sauce, it was fantastic.  After dinner Alex and I met up with one of his friends and her sister and spent the rest of the night bar hopping.  It was a beautiful evening, and a lot of places had their decks open.

Alex’s brother and fiancé were also up visiting for the weekend, and so we met up with them and his dad for lunch and sightseeing on Saturday.  All winter I had heard the boys talk about The Boat Basin and how they couldn’t wait to go when it was warm again, so I suggested it for lunch since Saturday was so beautiful.  The restaurant is located in Riverside Park on 79th Street, and overlooks the Hudson.

The five of us split a bucket of beer, to fully embrace the sunshine and beginning of spring.

For lunch I ordered the Turkey Burger with American Cheese, and we all got a basket of potato chips to share.

It tasted homemade and fresh, and I ate the entire thing.  After lunch we did some walking around and sightseeing.

Lincoln Center

Boyfriend and I in Lincoln Center

Some of the original NYU buildings

Washington Square Park archway with the bf walking through it

After many hours of walking around, my knee and hip were starting to feel very sore, so we packed it up and headed home to get ready for dinner.  Saturday night was my first Passover Seder, and I really enjoyed the whole thing.  It’s always interesting to experience different religious traditions, and Alex’s family made it fun and I felt very included.  Always helpful when good food and wine are included also!  We went out Alex’s brother and fiancé for a drink after dinner, but we were all so exhausted that we didn’t stay long.

On Sunday, the bf and I were up and out of the apartment bright and early to catch our 12:15 train back to suburbia to celebrate Easter with my family.  I just like to refer to it as Thanksgiving in April, because we basically serve all the same food.

My cousin Drew, my sister, me, and Alex.  All in all it was a whirlwind of a weekend, very busy with lots of family bonding on both mine and Alex’s side.  I am officially exhausted this Monday morning, and I hope I make it to Friday alive.  I have more pictures I wanted to post, but for some reason they won’t upload, so I’ll have to try again later.  I hope everyone had a great weekend, I’m off to read about what you all were up to.

23 Responses

  1. I think your sister matches the drapes! LOL. You guys are all so cute. I’m jealous you get to go to NYC every weekend. I know the downside is the LDR but at least he lives somewhere cool! 😀

    • Hahaha she kind of does! Yes for now he lives somewhere cool, he may end up at a law school in the middle of nowhere, which would not be as much fun.

  2. Looks like a great weekend. I’d love to be just a train ride away from NYC. So jealous! You and the bf are cute 🙂

  3. Kelly I just think you look so beautiful in these pictures!! So glad you had a wonderful weekend! I’m loving the notion of Easter being Thanksgiving in April- so true- just a smorgasboard of food!!

    Happy Monday, love!

  4. I’m also jealous you get to hang out in NYC every weekend! I’ve never been…

    And YEA FOR BASEBALL SEASON!!!! I’ll be with my Cards in spirit today… lol

  5. Aww! You two look so happy, it makes me happy. Yay spring! Yay sunglasses!

    And I am a big, big fan of the Boat Basin. Although, the last time I was there, I ordered nachos that came wrapped in plastic. Not exactly homemade-tasting, or looking. Did pair nicely with beer, though.

  6. You and your boyfriend are so cute! I’m also jealous of how you get to go to NYC all the time. I’ve never been there (or anywhere cool really).
    Sounds like an awesome weekend.

    • Thank you 🙂 it’s difficult to get him to take a nice picture sometimes. Well I’ve never been to Canada, and I think it looks cool!

  7. I absolutely love washington sq park! such a fun area.

    hey im comin to nyc to visit my brother sometime in the summer. we need to do a meet up!

    • Yeah everything just looked so photogenic on Saturday, and I would absolutely love to meet up when you go visit your brother!

  8. I totally agree with you. This is the best time of the year for sure. Baseball is back! Go Cubbies 🙂

  9. I used to hang out in Riverside Park’s Boat Basin when I lived in NYC, on 82nd and RSD, a great place to live. SIgh; I’m in California now. Opening a restaurant there is pure genius. Sigh again.

  10. I second Amy! I am so jealous you’re always in NYC!! Thanks for the FF shout out! (belated since I dont have internet at home anymore 😦 )

  11. Sounds like a fabulous weekend!!!! And you and your bf are too cute! 😀

  12. Haha omg I just posted pretty much the same opening paragraph and exact title; swear I didn’t see this first! So excited about this–the Phils are up 11-1 and life is good!

    Seems like you had a great weekend!

  13. Sounds like a fun weekend. I like the dress you’re wearing.

Leave a Reply

