• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Parmesan Crusted Stuffed Chicken

La la la, good morning everyone!  Happy LOST Tuesday!  Words cannot express how much I am looking forward to tonight’s episode, do not disappoint me writers!

Last nights workout was 35 minutes on the elliptical, I upped my resistance to try and work my legs more, and found it much more challenging.  My leg was feeling good, so I decided to give it a little treadmill test.  I ran for about 4 minutes before stopping.  No good.  I called my Orthopedist’s office yesterday to make another appointment to go back.  Not only is my IT Band not getting any better, but I’ve recently also developed some pain in my right hip.  It has that feeling like it needs to crack, but just won’t.  Hopefully I’ll be able to start some physical therapy and get over this injury.

While I was sitting at my desk yesterday afternoon I was trying to think of something to make for dinner.  I ran through what I had at home in my fridge in my head and came up with Chicken Stuffed with Asparagus and Cheese.  And then because I decided cheese just on the inside wasn’t yummy enough I made it Parmesan Crusted Chicken stuffed with Asparagus and Cheese.

I started with 9 asparagus stalks, and steamed them for 4 minutes, then draining and shocking with cold water (to keep them from continuing to cook).  Then I took 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, placed them between two  pieces of wax paper, and then beat the hell out of them with an ice cream scoop.  Perhaps it’s about time I invest in a meat mallet?  The ice cream scooper worked fine for now.  Then I seasoned each piece with salt, pepper, oregano, and basil.  I didn’t measure anything, just kind of sprinkled it on there.  I gave each chicken breast 3 pieces of asparagus.

Followed by a generous sprinkling of mozzarella cheese :).

I had some grated Parmesan cheese waiting on a nearby plate, folded the chicken together as best I could and coated it in the cheese.  After that, onto a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick spray they went, and then a quick spritzing of non-stick spray on top.

And into a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  While the chicken was cooking, I prepared my rice.  It was Uncle Ben’s Wild Rice, so all that really involved was putting the rice and seasoning in a bowl, adding some water, and popping it in the microwave.  20 minutes later, dinner was ready!

It was really good, although I think next time I would make a sauce with it.  Any suggestions?  I was thinking something lemony, right?  Sigh, I don’t know.

So, I won’t be around until later in the day tomorrow.  I have some things going on in the morning and I won’t be at work, don’t worry I’ll be sure to update you all as soon as I can :).  Just send me some good luck tomorrow around 10 am, please?  Well, I’m off!  Have a fabulous day!

42 Responses

  1. Oh some sort of lemon-y sauce would be soooo good on that! mmm…

    I really am sorry it’s gotten to the point of going to the orthopedist. Hopefully everything’s ok! When I went for mine, I felt like something just needed to “pop”. So I was pretty rough on the leg for a while- trying to get it to do so. I assume that didn’t really help anything… lol.

    Good luck!

    • Haha yeah that’s how I feel, I keep stretching it out, waiting for that “crack” probs not the best idea. Well see what the doc has to say this time.

  2. ooh that looks awesome!! And — I have used a wine bottle to tenderize before. Who needs a meat mallet??

    I google “parm crusted chicken with sauce” and came up with this result from the food network – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/robin-miller/panko-parmesan-crusted-chicken-with-wasabi-tomato-sauce-recipe/index.html sounds…interesting! 🙂

    Good luck with the leg!

    • haha i’ve now used a flash light, pan, and ice cream scoop, we’re so innovative! Hmm wasabi tomato sauce? That does sound interesting.

      Thanks!

      • I’ve never used a wine bottle to tenderize meat, but I will say it makes quite a good rolling pin!

        And I break out the tool set for a hammer when doing such things as “crushing food”.

        It’s totally therapuetic. Did I spell that right? Too lazy to check…

      • Haha I’ll have to keep that in mind, lord knows I always have a bottle of wine laying around and def don’t own a rolling pin.

  3. That is gorgeous – and I don’t even eat chicken. I made asparagus yesterday too, though. Like, omg.

    I know you’re not going to want to hear this, but have you thought that the elliptical might be aggravating your IT band? I’ve heard the motion can make it worse, seeing as it’s kind of an unnatural movement. Just a thought

    • I thought about that, but when I went to the doc the first time around he said activity that didn’t hurt while I was doing it was ok, and the elliptical doesn’t hurt while in progress. I dunno, I guess I’ll see what he has to say this time around.

      Asparagus is one of my favorite veggies!

  4. That chicken is beautiful and I bet it tasted AMAZING!! I am sorry about the IT band…hopefully you can more insight from the doctor! Hang in there!! 🙂

  5. Oh my God, how did we end up eating basically the same meal last night?? So funny. Seriously though yours looks and sounds delicious. I’m a big fan of asparagus, mozz, and parm. Incredible combo. I love anything stuffed! Great dinner girl!!
    Have a great Tuesday!
    And good for you for stopping on the treadmill when you knew it wasn’t feeling good. Hurting yourself would’ve been the worst.

    • Haha I know, too funny, I laughed when I read your post last night. Asparagus is def one of my fav veggies. You have a great Tuesday also!

  6. That looks really good…and I don’t even like cheese! I might have to try some variation, but with what I don’t know. ;p

  7. When I saw the pictures of your chicken I decided that is what I will make for dinner tonight. That looked SO good! I wonder if a Hollandaise (sp?) sauce would taste good with that?? Or a Ranch/Chipotle mix? I have no clue…i basically dip everything I eat in ranch…

    • Thank you! I actually think I saw a few recipes that used a Hollandaise sauce, I’m sure it would be delish. I use ranch for everything too, haha.

  8. First, your chicken sounds fabulous!!! A lemon sauce would be good! Maybe some lemon juice, white wine, and herbs? YUM!
    And FYI, if you don’t have a meat mallet, heavy skillets (especially cast-iron) work like a charm!

    So SO sorry about the hip girl. Mine feels the same way. Like if only I could stretch it, it would feel better. Cept no amount of stretching is helping. I’m sending positive vibes and good thoughts your way! Just remember, you’re not alone!
    Much love my dear!!!

    • That’s the kind of sauce I was thinking about too! I’ll definitely try it! Haha, I’ve used a skillet before too, I’m very resourceful. Haha we’re too young for our hips to give out on us, it’s no fair!

  9. you’re old. and your body is falling apart – hence the hip pain. haha just kidding…you know I’m your biggest fan but everyone else praises you on here so I have to bring in some reality 🙂 love you!

  10. Hope your leg feels better!

  11. YUM!!

    I would totally put cheese sauce on it, but I have a problem when it comes to cheese. Right now my fridge contains ricotta, swiss, parmesan, two kinds of regular cheddar, goat milk cheddar, goat cheese and feta. Yah – like I said, I have a problem.

  12. wow that looks fantastic! (good luck tomorrow around 10 a.m. 😉 )

  13. Oh wow this sounds really good. I should give it a try for my husband.

  14. Yum, love stuffed chicken!! I haven’t tried making it with asparagus before. Great suggestion!’

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  15. Wow that is so creative and looks great!

  16. […] I just don’t buy it often.  There was probably some subconscious craving for it after seeing Kelly or Andrea blog about it […]

  17. (Hi, from the foodie blog roll!)

    I’m heading to the farmers market this weekend to search out some fresh asparagus. This would be a hit dinner in my house!

  18. Welcome to the Foodie Blogroll!

    Excellent looking chicken and asparagus. Great ideas for stuffing. I’m thinking these would rock on a grill.

  19. Mmmmm, I don’t eat meat but if something was going to make me start again this would be it! I’m definitely going to be making this chicken for my Man!!

  20. I am totally trying this recipe this weekend!!!

  21. […] the gym, I quickly put together dinner for the three of us.  My Parmesan Crusted Chicken, stuffed with Asparagus and Cheese and a side of Uncle Ben’s Rice Au Grautin.  Since my camera hated me last night I […]

  22. […] Seriously recommend checking out this museum if you are ever in DC, there is so much to read and see and it is so interesting.  In fact, if you’re in town and going, invite me!  I want to go back!  After our day at The Newseum, Adrienne and I made our way back to the metro, Newseum umbrella souvenirs in hand (the rain really picked up while we were inside) and then it was over to the grocery store to do our shopping for the week.  When we finally got home, I got right to business in the kitchen making some dinner for the two of us.  My favorite, Parmesan Crusted Chicken stuffed with Asparagus and Mozzarella Cheese with a Lemon Poppy Seed Sauce. […]

  23. […] Yes, she is a midget cat, she still only weighs 7lbs 12 oz.  Anyway, wish her good luck at the vet on Thursday, and since I’m trying not to drink this week give me some other ways to keep from spazzing.  Thanks.  Oh yeah, I also made dinner for me and the roommates last night.  It was my favorite Parmesan Crusted Chicken Stuffed with Mozzarella and Asparagus with a Lemon Poppy Seed Sauce. […]

Leave a Reply

