• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Grateful for the support!

First off, I just want to say thank you to everyone yesterday for their encouraging words of support! You all really helped to snap me out of my bad mood, and realize that yes this sucks, but I won’t be injured forever.  I’m going to be looking in to a few suggestions I got, taking up swimming, compression bands, etc and evaluate my options.  So thanks again!

Ok, because my leg hates me, I decided to plop my butt on the couch last night and not move until it was time to get in bed.  It was a great call, I curled up on the couch with Lauren Conrad‘s latest book  Sweet Little Lies.  Yes, I read the first one, and I will probably read the next one.  They are addicting and I am not embarrassed to admit that at all.  Ok, well maybe just a little.

Dinner last night was one of my favorites from when I was little.  Chicken and broccoli casserole with a side of brown rice.

  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, boiled
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 1/2 packages frozen broccoli florets
  • cheddar cheese
  • breadcrumbs
  • mayonnaise
  • lemon juice

After defrosting the broccoli, and cutting up the chicken place both in a casserole dish.  Combine the soups, mayonnaise, and lemon juice to form the sauce and spread evenly over the chicken and broccoli.  Sprinkle a layer of breadcrumbs on the top, and then add the cheddar cheese.  Bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes.

It is so good on a cold and rainy night like last night.  This also makes a giant batch, so it is good for if you are having a lot of people over for dinner, or just one really hungry guy.  We made some all natural brown rice to serve on the side.  My mom and I try to make this recipe as healthy as possible, we use the Campbell’s 98% fat-free soups, light mayonnaise, fat-free cheddar cheese, and go light on the bread crumbs.  I personally can’t tell the difference.

After dinner I remembered I had a lot of tofu left that I needed to use, so I started Googling some recipes.  I found a Tofu Lo Mein recipe that I luckily had all of the ingredients for already in my house.

  • Chicken Broth
  • Red Pepper flakes
  • Sesame Oil
  • Low Sodium Soy Sauce
  • Apple Cidar Vinegar (www.foodsubs.com told me this could be a substitute for Rice Wine Vinegar, which I did not have)
  • Onion
  • Broccoli
  • Red and Orange Peppers
  • Carrots
  • Package of extra firm tofu
  • Whole wheat linguine

Here is the link for the actual recipe, if anyone wants to try and make this themselves.  After draining, and drying to tofu, it sits in a nice little marinade of sesame oil and soy sauce while you chop up the veggies.  Once the veggies are chopped, add the chicken broth and soy sauce to a large pan, bring to a boil, and reduce to a simmer, add the veggies and apple cidar vinegar.

Let that simmer together, covered for about 5 minutes, and then add the noodles.

Depending on what kind of noodles you use, you may have to let this cook longer than the 6 minutes the recipe says.  Since I was using regular linguine, I would say mine cooked together for about 10 minutes, until the pasta had absorbed most of the liquid.  After that has all cooked together, stir in the tofu and red pepper flakes.

I have to say, this tofu experiment was a much bigger success than my pizza disaster.  I tried it as soon as it was done, and was very happy.  Some of this is my lunch today, the other half pound of food is in my fridge at home.  Anyone want to come over for dinner?  Haha, I now have enough leftovers to feed an army.  Or the bf when he gets here this weekend.

In other news, look what else is in my near future;

Seriously?  What did the Mid-Atlantic Region do to piss off Mother Nature so bad this year.  Just when we thought that the past few days rain would wash away the 6 foot snow drifts, we are going to get hit with another snow storm.  Stupid.  I have made about $1 in the month of February because of holidays I don’t get paid for, snow closures, delays, blah!  I need a full paycheck or I might cry.  Well, at least it is Wednesday (hump day!) hooray!  I would talk about LOST some, but I really have no coherent thoughts so it would pretty much just look like this:

Sooo, LOST?  Um…….. WHAT?  I’m confused, damn you Jack!  Claire, you need a hairbrush.  Yup, that’s about it.  Have a great day everyone!

19 Responses

  1. Was not aware Lauren had a book. You learn something every day, don’t you?

    I want some tofu, but I’m going out to eat tonight . . . GUESSING it’s a tofuless venue since I live in the midwest.

  2. I really need to just break down and learn how to use tofu in cooking. I have no idea why it scares me… it just does!

    And yeah, we got more snow today, too. Which made my commute fabulous. I keep telling myself good weather is a few more weeks away. Then I remember where I live. And realize I’m lying to myself… :p

  3. Oh I am so sorry about the snow coming your way! I am SO over winter…spring where are you?!?!?!

  4. lol I TOTALLY want to read Lauren Conrad’s books.

    Also, that casserole looks good and totally reminds me of my grandpa. He buys cream of mushroom soup by the case because its a good deal. Then he gives it away because he cant eat it all. lol We’re all about getting a deal in my family.

  5. Fact: Lauren Conrad being a published author makes me want to slit my wrists.

    Fact: Working in publishing teaches me that I can’t take these things seriously, but it still stings.

    Fact: The forecast makes me want to cry. We’re in for 6-12 inches. (which is what she said.)

    Fact: Your Lo Mein looks awesome.

    • Haha, I know, as a former Journalism major it pains me to read them, but I made the mistake of reading her first one and it sucks you in. Yeah they just changed our forecast for like 12-16, now I want to cry. And thank you, there is tons left, I need more people in this house.

  6. That dinner looks rad. And I am not believing the weather reports. I am a sea of positivity. No hurricane-tornado blizzards for us.

    • Thank you! I admire your positive attitude, if it weren’t for the other billion snow storms they were right about this year I’d be more positive too.

  7. I friggin love Lauren Conrad. I think she’s sooo beautiful. NEver read her books but Im certainly not above it.

    Rain here too.

  8. I have both her books too , but haven’t started them…I don’t care – if I’ll admit to the show watching, I can admit to the reading…y’know just to see what it’s like ;)….actually it pisses me off – I’d love to get published – it probably only took her all of 2 seconds given all the contacts and PR she has…and editors and such…blah…

    • Yeah, that’s the one thing that annoys me about her books, she most likely did not have to work hard at all to get a three book deal, and I would love some day to write a book. The fact that it is an easy read and she probably didn’t work on it all by herself makes me a little happier though.

  9. […] My mom wanted to be mean last night, and made one of my favorite dinners for her and her boyfriend, chicken and broccoli casserole.  I’ve talked about it here. […]

  10. […] her favorite dinner and I proceeded to stuff my face as soon as I got home from the gym.  She made Chicken and Broccoli Casserole, […]

  11. […] to me kept staring at me in the mirror and it was bugging me out.  I got home, threw together my Chicken and Broccoli Casserole, and enjoyed my first sips of wine since Saturday.  That’s right, major accomplishment, I […]

Leave a Reply

