• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Chicken Parm, snow, and a Doctors apt

Last night my cooking/baking marathon continued, and I whipped up some Chicken Parmesan for dinner.

Flour and two eggs

Italian style breadcrumbs with Paprika and Cayenne Pepper added

Coat the chicken in the flour, dip into the eggs, and then cover in the breadcrumbs.  Spray a glass baking pan with non-stick spray and place the covered chicken breasts into the pan, spraying the top of the chicken with non-stick spray also.

Then into the oven for 15 minutes, a little longer if your chicken breasts are thick.  I cut these in half.  After the chicken is cooked, add the sauce and mozzarella cheese, and put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes or so.

I had some fresh mozzarella to use up, and then just a sprinkle of some shredded also.  When the chicken went back in the oven I made some whole grain linguine as a side dish.

Chicken parm in it's cheesy goodness

My plate, I used a jar of sauce, so I added some garlic and onion powder to give it more flavor.

And of course, a glass of red wine to wash it all down with. 🙂  The remainder of my night consisted of Mercy, Modern Family, and Cougar Town, all while calling my works weather emergency line to see if we would be closed today.  We were not, but we did have a delay and opened at 10 am (I normally get to work at 7:30, so that’s a huge difference).

Digging my car out this morning, and getting to work was no easy task.  I figured if I could get out of my neighborhood safely the main roads would be better.  I was wrong.  The main roads were still terrible!  At one point I was driving on a solid sheet of snow and ice, and when it finally ended it was a good 5 inch drop to street level.  Not fun.  I made it safely to work though, and found it odd that the place they chose to plow all the snow into were the two handicap parking spaces.  Really guys?  Yes, there are only two handicap spots in our parking lot, and now they are both filled with at least 6 feet of snow.  Really smart.  Here are more pictures that I took this morning.  When I measured the snow in my backyard last night, it was at 19 inches and it was still snowing.  So, I’m guessing we got about 20 or 21.

[knee update]
I had my appointment at the orthopedist this afternoon, and was terrified of getting horrible news.  Fortunately, the Doctor agreed with my self-diagnosis that it was my IT Band bothering me.  He showed me how much more flexible my left leg was than my right due to the tightness, and gave me a few ideas for stretching.  He said to take another 10 days off from running (ugh!) and to stretch and take two Aleve every day to get rid of some of the inflammation and reduce the irritation.  Does anyone have any really good stretches?  I don’t have a foam roller so keep that in mind.  Hopefully I’ll be back running soon, starting over at 2 miles and building up in distance again… booooo.

3 Responses

  1. hi!! You’re so beautiful. How fun about your first V day with the man. I’m sure you can’t say what you’re getting him incase he reads but I need some ideas!!!! I have no damn clue. Help.

    • Aww thank you! You’re right I can’t say exactly what I got him because he reads this, but electronics are always a good idea! Seasons of their fav show on DVD, computer gadgets, video games (blah). Those were just some of the things I considered.

  2. […] with an Orthopedist, and went to see him a week and a half later.  I mention the appointment here, but basically he told me what I was already suspecting.  That my IT Band was very tight and […]

Leave a Reply

