• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

A taste of spring

First of all, Happy 27th Birthday Alexis!  So jealous of you and your day off today.

Yesterday was weird.  It was rainy and miserable, but 60 degrees so I couldn’t decide whether to hate the monsoon or be excited about the spring temperatures in January.  Apparently it was the warmest day in January in the past two years.  Well that dilemma is over, it was back down in the 30s again when I woke up this morning and a snow storm is in the forecast for this weekend.

I had to give myself a serious pep talk to make it to the gym last night, what is it about rainy Mondays that do no inspire a workout?  The only positive thing was that it seemed a lot of other people were discouraged by the weather because the gym was not that crowded.  Either that or all those New Years resolution people are starting to lose their motivation.  Well, I’m glad I forced myself to go because I ended up having a really great workout.

Mondays in my fitness plan are speed workouts, so yesterday was a 10 minute warm-up, then 20-25 minutes of fartlek (a combination of fast and slow running for various amounts of time), and a 10 minute cool down.  I ran my warm-up at 10 minute mile pace, and decided to run each interval of fast/slow for the length of the songs on my playlist.  I started at 7.0 mph increasing to 7.2, 7.4, 7.6, and then 8.0, bringing it back down to 6.4 mph between each speed increase.  Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing is a very long song when you are running at 8.0 mph for the length of it.  I did my cool-down at 10 minute mile pace also.  Altogether, 4.97 miles in 45 minutes.  I’ve decided I like runs with intervals much more than just running a certain pace for a set distance, it seems like the workout goes much faster.

After my workout I could not wait to get home and stuff my face full of the leftover lasagna I made for dinner on Sunday night.  For an Irish girl, I’m pretty good Italian cook, in my opinion anyway.

my lasagna

Then I watched the second episode of that new show on the CW, Life Unexpected.  I’m a fan, I hope it lasts.  Although, I probably like it so much because it reminds me of a Lifetime movie.  Girl gets pregnant in high school, gives daughter up for adoption, 16 years later daughter returns, and mom decides to raise her now.  Yup, a Lifetime movie for sure, but better because it’s a whole series!

One Response

  1. Ah, musical fartlek. They always work out so well till you hit a 10-14 minute song…

    Also, I’m way too distracted by the fact that Shiri Appleby doesn’t look old enough to have a 16 year old to watch that show. ;p I’m obsessive like that.

Leave a Reply

