• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Here’s where I explain my treadmill only training

I know a lot of runners out there absolutely hate training on a treadmill, and will only use one as a last resort.  I am not one of those runners.  In theory, the idea of going for a nice long run outdoors and enjoying the scenery seems nice until I am about two minutes into my run and lose all motivation.  I feel like a treadmill keeps me moving, whereas when it is up to my own legs they tend to like to walk.  Also I am a fairly competitive person, so when I see someone running at a faster speed on a treadmill next to me I pick up my pace.  The treadmill keeps me running at a constant pace, no slowing down without realizing it, and I know exactly how far I have gone.

The biggest reason I stick to the treadmill though, is I have no running buddy and as I have mentioned before I have this completely rational irrational fear of being kidnapped.  I blame all the episodes of 48 Hour Mystery that I watch.  But seriously, on the occasions that I have gone out and run by myself outside the only thing I can think about is, “shit, shit, shit some van is going to come up behind me I’m not going to hear them because of my headphones and then I will disappear and no one will know what happened.” Yes, I am aware that I have issues that I need to work on.

I’m thinking about trying to conquer this fear one Saturday morning run at a time.  There is no way I’m attempting to run outside after work during the week, it’s dark out then!  I am hoping that if I invest in some sort of pace/distance tracker like a Garmin it will keep me moving, and at a constant speed. So hopefully I can get over this fear and move off the treadmill to the outside world, or I will have a nervous breakdown and my family will find me in a ditch on the side of the road.

Anywhooo, took it easy last night at the gym.  My knees, hip, and shins were hurting (Col no comments from you about being old) so I just used the elliptical trainer.  I am not a fan of the elliptical, it’s boring, my feet always fall asleep, and I don’t think it is nearly as good of a workout as running, but nonetheless sometimes a little cross training is necessary.  33 minutes, 3.21 miles and then some ab work on a tilted ab bench.  I love doing leg lifts on an ab bench, it stretches out your core and works so many of your abdominal muscles.  Definitely feeling that today.  Back to the treadmill tonight for another run.     

Leave a Reply

