• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

MLK day off

The 400 meter race, how do I begin to explain my relationship with it?  Well, I suppose it all started back in the 5th grade when my track coach put me in it for the first time.  I had no idea how to run this race, so I asked him and he told me to just run as fast as I could for one lap around the track.  I think it was on the back stretch of the track, when I realized that I was only halfway done and ready to cross the finish line, that my hatred for the 400 took root.  Unfortunately for me, I was good at the 400 and every Sunday without fail I was signed up for that race.   I would either throw up from nerves before the race, or throw up immediately after crossing the finish line.

High school came around and I begged and pleaded with my coach to not have to run the 400, and he told me sure I don’t have to run it but that he was going to move me up to the 800.  To me the 800 was even more horrible than the 400, so I sucked it up and ran the 400 for the next four years.  I started to hate it a little less as the years went by, proper work outs and distance runs made it seem not quite as horrible, but no matter how many times I ran it by the last 50-100 meters my legs felt like a combination of lead and jelly, yes both.  Also, for some reason the 400 always took place while I was either in the middle of high-jump or triple-jump so I was constantly running back and forth.  I think I PR’d at either 60 or 61 seconds, not too shabby if you ask me, and that is what brings me to todays work out.

A 10 minute warm-up jog, which I did at 10 minute mile pace, 5×400 each 400 run in two minutes with a two minute jog recovery, and then a 10 minute cool down jog also run at 10 minute mile pace.  I’m not going to lie, I really had to psych myself up for those 400s.  I told myself, “come on kel, a 2 minute 400 is eassssy you used to run them in half that. Yeah before I discovered drinking, and for a short time smoking.” That was the internal monologue going on while I stood on the treadmill “stretching”.  Anyway, I finally started the belt and got into my 10 minute warm up and then 400 number one, and actually it wasn’t horrible.  So first one down only four more to go, and by the end I was sweating and breathing hard, but I made it!  What is amazing however, is how slow two minutes goes by when you are sprinting, and how fast your two minute recovery jog goes by.  Ok so all together 41 minutes and 4.04 miles, and then I came home and put on my yoga DVD for some toning and stretching exercises.  A pretty productive workout day considering it is a holiday.

I also finally got to the running store to buy some new sneakers.  Mine are at least a year old, so it was definitely time for a new pair.  With my running shoes I usually stick with the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it motto” so I pretty much bought the exact same shoes just a newer model and slightly different colors.  Can’t wait to lace them up tomorrow and start to break them in!

old shoes in the foreground, new ones in the background!

There has been a marathon of Jennifer Aniston movies on Lifetime all day, obviously I was very excited to discover this because of my slight obsession with her.  Derailed just ended and Rumor Has It is on right now.  I think The Breakup is on later, I think you can all guess what is in store for me for the rest of the night.   I hope everyone had a great weekend/long weekend.  I am so not looking forward to going back to work tomorrow, sigh.

Leave a Reply

