• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

And into a new decade we go

Happy 2010!  I wonder how long it is going to take to get used to saying that; I’m still trying to figure out how to abbreviate the year.  Is it oh 10, just 10?  I just don’t know, I feel like it might take me awhile to form a definite opinion on the matter.  I’ll be sure to keep you all posted.  This morning I found myself suffering the post holiday blues, and whining about how “there is nothing to look forward to now,” waaah waaah.  I know, cry me a river.  So instead, I’m just going to talk all about this past weekend and refuse to look ahead.

Things were going very smoothly on my Thursday trip up to NYC, I made the early train and it wasn’t exceptionally crowded.  Then I tried to make it easier for Alex to find me in Penn Station (note to self: finding someone in Penn Station is not easy if you are wandering around trying to make it easier for them to find you).  I thought I was walking towards/waiting at the entrance to the subway that we needed and maybe I was, maybe I wasn’t but I think it took us almost an hour to find each other after I arrived.  And there was absolutely no yelling and cursing into the phone or hanging up on each other.  None at all.  For our actual NYE festivities, Alex, his roommates, and I headed out to a mutual friends apartment to meet up with her and a few of our other friends for a pregame dinner party.  After some yummy food and cocktails, we headed to midtown for our rooftop party.  The view was amazing, we could hear the people in Times Square, and it was by far one of my favorite New Years Eve’s to date.  Here is just one picture from the roof, it was snowing, and beautiful:

Friday we spent sleeping, eating McDonald’s, and recovering from a fantastic party.  Then Friday night, one of my best friends from JMU, Megan, came into the city from Long Island to hang out with us all.  It was somewhat low-key, if you don’t consider the three cans of Mamba Joose that we drank.  Went to the boys local bar and played some darts, I am fantastic at darts, definitely better than the boyfriend, and went home relatively early.  Saturday, Alex and I ventured out into the frigid temperatures to do some shopping in SoHo.  I somehow had some extra money this month, and just had to get rid of it.  I ended up buying this adorable jacket from J.Crew, in the sea salt color.  It was a fantastic deal, already on sale, then an extra 20% off, and I also had a $75 gift certificate to spend.  I am very happy with the purchase.  Then Saturday night, the boys and I went to another local bar, played Buckhunter, beer pong, and some Photo Hunt.  Three of my personal favorite bar/drinking games.

Yesterday I made the mistake of trying to venture home with the mass amounts of people heading to the Jets last home game, and the last game ever in Giants Stadium.  Alex and his roommate, and my friend Erik, happened to be two of them.  I have never seen a train more crowded, it was hard to even get through the doors to board.  Thankfully, most of the train exited at the Secaucus stop, to transfer to the Meadowlands and I was able to find a seat.  It was an amazing weekend that left me feeling exhausted and groggy at work today, but it was completely worth it.

On another note, the gym was packed tonight with all those delightful New Years Resolution people I so lovingly discussed last week.  In an effort to start 2010 off right, I came up with a resolution of my own.  I want to be a better version of me this year, and hopefully for years to come.  I try to be a good friend, girlfriend, daughter, and sister, but sometimes I think I fail.  So this year, I want to be more polite, less selfish, less snappy, and nicer in general.  Did you all come up with resolutions?

2 Responses

  1. your welcome for the jacket love!

  2. […] I spent New Years Eve on a roof top in NYC […]

Leave a Reply

