• About Kelly

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Email Me With Any Questions!

    myverbalvomit@gmail.com
  • Top Posts

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 86 other followers

Out of sight, not out of mind

Last night as I was standing in the shower I wasn’t hit with the smell of coconut body wash that is my usual soap.  Instead there was a piney/ evergreen/ I’ve been chopping down trees in a forest all day smell.  Man soap!  Apparently the boyfriend wanted to stop smelling like a Bath and Body Works store  every time he came for a visit and brought his own bar of soap to leave here.  What is it about the smell of man soap that is just so incredibly delicious?  I took a deep breath, smiled, and even though it made me miss him I also remembered that man smell would be back in person on Wednesday night.  Oh, and then I shaved my legs with my razor, which apparently had been utilized to shave his face.  I may have to go get a transfusion later due to blood loss.

It seems though, after every visit I’m left with more and more articles of clothing that belong to him.  Is he subconsciously trying to get me to do his laundry?  I don’t even do my own laundry, doesn’t mom the laundry fairy do that?  Last night I found two pairs of socks, sweatpants, and his sunglasses.  Last weekend it was a pair of socks, a t-shirt, and hair gel, and both the socks and t-shirt got washed by mom the laundry fairy!  If he thinks he’s getting any space in my closet or dresser, well then we will have to have a serious chat.  It makes me laugh to see his stuff laying around though, and for a few minutes I forget about how much long distance relationships suck.

I’ve been in a long distance relationship before, once separated by 1000 miles and 16 hours, and while the distance between New York and Philadelphia is not nearly as bad, it’s still there.  Traveling every weekend gets exhausting and expensive, splitting time between friends and cities.  In my opinion the weekdays are the worst, there is no chance of meeting for a quick dinner just to say hello, or a few drinks after work, just the daily phone call and goodnight.  Sometimes I even find myself feeling jealous of other people that get to hang out with my boyfriend when I can’t.  I suppose the positive side is that you really appreciate and make the most of the time you do get to spend together.

So this Christmas, really, all I want for Christmas is you.  Lucky for me, this year I know I’ll get what I want.

2 Responses

  1. That’s funny last night I was itchy and irritated and I realized that I had brought a little bit of PA back with me all over my clothes.

    Two words: Pumpkin pie.

  2. hahah after that loving blog you’re going to threaten the life of her best friend in the world? Really, Alex?

    Our bathroom smells like boy and it just makes me sad. Stupid boys.

Leave a Reply

